The Fort Smith Housing Authority
You are here: About Us

About the Fort Smith Housing Authority

The Fort Smith Housing Authority (FSHA) is a public corporation, governed by a five-member Board of Commissioners.

Mission Statement
The mission of the FSHA is to develop, rehabilitate and manage decent, safe and sanitary quality affordable housing in a manner that promotes equal opportunity, fair housing goals and the deconcentration of race and poverty. In accomplishing this goal, FHSA is committed to maintaining its developments as affordable housing assets that can meet the needs of low-income households in the long term and serve as viable community resources promoting economic independence and self-sufficiency for its residents every day. 

Grants and operating funds are received annually from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). FSHA owns and operates 288 units for seniors and people with disabilities as part of the Fort Smith Senior Housing Program. FSHA also administers the federal housing subsidy program known as "Section 8," making it possible for very low income residents to live in affordable rental housing anywhere in Sebastian County. FSHA acts as an agent for HUD in this program, making subsidy payments to private landlords of Section 8 residents. FSHA, on behalf of HUD, serves the affordable housing needs of more than 1,600 households through the Section 8 program each month.


Experience the best in new homes with all the modern conveniences, located near schools, grocery, and retail shopping in a neighborhood environment.


Homeownership programs can provide eligible buyers with assistance for down payment and closing costs.


Section 8 provides very low-income families the ability to rent apartments, condominiums or homes in the private market.


Nelson Hall Homes provides suitable and safe rental housing for eligible low-income elderly and/or disabled persons.

Copyright (c) 2024 Fort Smith Housing Authority
2100 North 31st Street | Fort Smith, AR 72904 | Phone: 479-782-4991 | Administrative Fax: 479-782-0120 | Section 8 Fax: 479-709-9381